Monday, January 14, 2008

Southwest Side alderman join in endorsing Ald. Ed Smith to oust incumbent Recorder of Deeds Eugene Moore

Contact: Larry Shapiro O: (708) 450-1780 C: (708) 829-8796

Thirty Chicago city aldermen joined the groundswell of support by officially endorsing Alderman Ed Smith for Cook County Recorder of Deeds. Aldermen from every geographic area in Chicago were represented in this group of Smith supporters.

"I am honored that my colleagues, many of whom have worked closely with me for more than twenty years, have chosen me as their candidate for Cook County Recorder of Deeds," Alderman Smith stated.

"They support my desire to reform the Recorder of Deeds to an office that utilizes up-to-date technology to provide efficient, professional, expeditious service to the public," he added.

Southwest Side aldermen endorsing Smith include Ald. Edward Burke (14th) and Ald. Michael Zalewski (23rd).

Smith also has the endorsement of Robert Fioretti (2nd), Pat Dowell (3rd), Fredrenna Lyle (6th), Anthony Beale (9th), John Pope (10th), Joann Thompson (16th), Willie Cochran (20th) and Ricardo Munoz (22nd).

Also on board are Daniel Solis (25th), Billy Ocasio (26th), Isaac Carothers (29th), Scott Waguespack (32nd), Richard Mell (33rd), Carrie Austin (34th), William Banks (36th), and Emma Mitts (37th). Others are Margaret Laurino (39th), Patrick O'Connor (40th), Brendan Reilly (42nd), Vi Daley (43rd), Thomas Tunney (44th), Helen Shiller (46th), Mary Ann Smith (48th), and Bernard Stone (50th).

Ed Smith is Alderman of the 28th Ward.

Others who have endorsed Alderman Smith include Mayor Richard M. Daley, Congressmen Bobby Rush, Jesse Jackson Jr. and Danny K. Davis, and Cook County Commissioners Forrest Claypool, Roberto Maldonado and Mike Quigley.

Smith's web site is


No comments: